Well, ladies and gents – it’s officially 2021! We’re hoping it’s certainly a better year than 2020. With restrictions finally lifting, it’s time to start planning for an amazing year ahead. We may even be able to go overseas at some stage – fingers crossed!

To help you plan ahead we’ve got a complete list of Australia school term dates and public holidays for each state. Simply find your state to check the dates. SIDE NOTE: How many public holidays does Tassie get!!??

Make sure you also check out our guide to making the most of your annual leave in 2021. Holiday planning starts now!

Victoria 

School Term Dates:

  • Term 1: Wednesday 27 January — Thursday 1 April
  • Term 2: Monday 19 April — Friday 25 June
  • Term 3: Monday 12 July — Friday 17 September
  • Term 4: Monday 4 October — Friday 17 December

Public Holidays: 

  • Friday 1 January – New Year’s Day
  • Tuesday 26 January – Australia Day
  • Monday 8 March – Labour Day
  • Friday 2 April 2 – Good Friday
  • Saturday 3 April – Day following Good Friday
  • Sunday 4 April – Easter Sunday
  • Monday 5 April – Easter Monday
  • Sunday 25 April – ANZAC Day
  • Monday 14 June – Queen’s Birthday
  • TBA – AFL Grand Final Footy
  • Tuesday 2 November – Melbourne Cup Day
  • Saturday 25 December – Christmas Day
  • Sunday 26 December – Boxing Day
  • Monday 27 December – Christmas Holiday
  • Tuesday, 28 December – Boxing Day Holiday

 


New South Wales

School Term Dates:

  • Term 1: Wednesday 27 January — Thursday 1 April (Eastern division), Wednesday 3 February — Thursday 1 April (Western division)
  • Term 2: Monday 19 April — Friday 25 June
  • Term 3: Monday 12 July — Friday 17 September
  • Term 4: Tuesday 5 October — Friday 17 December

Public Holidays: 

  • Friday 1 January – New Year’s Day
  • Tuesday 26 January – Australia Day
  • Friday 2 April 2 – Good Friday
  • Saturday 3 April – Day following Good Friday
  • Sunday 4 April – Easter Sunday
  • Monday 5 April – Easter Monday
  • Sunday 25 April – ANZAC Day
  • Monday 26 April – ANZAC Day Holiday
  • Monday 14 June – Queen’s Birthday
  • Monday, 4 October – Labour Day
  • Saturday 25 December – Christmas Day
  • Sunday 26 December – Boxing Day
  • Monday 27 December – Christmas Holiday
  • Tuesday, 28 December – Boxing Day Holiday

Queensland

School Term Dates:

  • Term 1: Wednesday 27 January — Thursday 1 April
  • Term 2: Monday 19 April — Friday 25 June
  • Term 3: Monday 12 July — Friday 17 September
  • Term 4: Tuesday 5 October — Friday 10 December (Years 10, 11 & 12 vary)

Public Holidays: 

  • Friday 1 January – New Year’s Day
  • Tuesday 26 January – Australia Day
  • Friday 2 April 2 – Good Friday
  • Saturday 3 April – Day following Good Friday
  • Sunday 4 April – Easter Sunday
  • Monday 5 April – Easter Monday
  • Sunday 25 April – ANZAC Day
  • Monday 26 April – ANZAC Day Holiday
  • Monday 3 May – Labour Day
  • Wednesday 11 August – Ekka Show Day (Brisbane)
  • Monday, 4 October – Queens’s Birthday
  • Friday 24 December – Christmas Eve (from 6pm)
  • Saturday 25 December – Christmas Day
  • Sunday 26 December – Boxing Day
  • Monday 27 December – Christmas Holiday
  • Tuesday, 28 December – Boxing Day Holiday

South Australia

School Term Dates:

  • Term 1: Wednesday 27 January  – Friday 9 April
  • Term 2: Tuesday 27 April — Friday 2 July
  • Term 3: Monday 19 July — Friday 24 September
  • Term 4: Monday 11 October — Friday 10 December

Public Holidays:

  • Friday 1 January – New Year’s Day
  • Tuesday 26 January – Australia Day
  • Monday 8 March – March Public Holiday
  • Friday 2 April 2 – Good Friday
  • Saturday 3 April – Day following Good Friday
  • Sunday 4 April – Easter Sunday
  • Monday 5 April – Easter Monday
  • Sunday 25 April – ANZAC Day
  • Monday 26 April – ANZAC Day Holiday
  • Monday 14 June – Queen’s Birthday
  • Monday, 4 October – Labour Day
  • Friday 24 December – Christmas Eve (from 7pm)
  • Saturday 25 December – Christmas Day
  • Sunday 26 December – Proclamation Day
  • Monday 27 December – Christmas Holiday
  • Tuesday, 28 December – Proclamation Day Holiday
  • Friday 31 December – New Year’s Eve (from 7pm)

Western Australia

School Term Dates:

  • Term 1: Monday 1 February — Thursday 1 April
  • Term 2: Monday 19 April — Friday 2 July
  • Term 3: Monday 19 July — Friday 24 September
  • Term 4: Monday 11 October — Thursday 16 December

Public Holidays:

  • Friday 1 January – New Year’s Day
  • Tuesday 26 January – Australia Day
  • Monday 1 March – Labour Day
  • Friday 2 April 2 – Good Friday
  • Monday 5 April – Easter Monday
  • Sunday 25 April – ANZAC Day
  • Monday 26 April – ANZAC Day Holiday
  • Monday 7 June – Western Australia Day
  • Monday 27 September – Queens’s Birthday
  • Saturday 25 December – Christmas Day
  • Sunday 26 December – Boxing Day
  • Monday 27 December – Christmas Holiday
  • Tuesday, 28 December – Boxing Day Holiday

Australian Capital Territory

School Term Dates:

  • Term 1: Monday 1 February (new students), Tuesday 2 February (continuing students) – Thursday 1 April
  • Term 2: Monday 19 April — Friday 25 June
  • Term 3: Monday 12 July — Friday 17 September
  • Term 4: Tuesday 5 October — Friday 17 December

Public Holidays:

  • Friday 1 January – New Year’s Day
  • Tuesday 26 January – Australia Day
  • Monday 8 March – Canberra Day
  • Friday 2 April 2 – Good Friday
  • Saturday 3 April – Day following Good Friday
  • Sunday 4 April – Easter Sunday
  • Monday 5 April – Easter Monday
  • Sunday 25 April – ANZAC Day
  • Monday 26 April – ANZAC Day Holiday
  • Monday 31 May – Reconciliation Day
  • Monday 14 June – Queen’s Birthday
  • Monday, 4 October – Labour Day
  • Saturday 25 December – Christmas Day
  • Sunday 26 December – Boxing Day
  • Monday 27 December – Christmas Holiday
  • Tuesday, 28 December – Boxing Day Holiday

Tasmania

School Term Dates:

  • Term 1: Monday 1 February (teachers), Wednesday 3 February (students) — Friday 9 April
  • Term 2: Tuesday 27 April — Friday 2 July
  • Term 3: Tuesday 20 July — Friday 24 September
  • Term 4: Monday 11 October— Thursday 16 December (students), Friday 17 December (teachers)

Public Holidays: 

  • Friday 1 January – New Year’s Day
  • Wednesday 6 January – Devonport Cup
  • Tuesday 26 January – Australia Day
  • Monday 8 February – Royal Hobart Regatta
  • Wednesday 24 February – Launceston Cup
  • Tuesday 2 March – King Island Show
  • Monday 8 March – Eight Hours Day
  • Friday 2 April 2 – Good Friday
  • Saturday 3 April – Day following Good Friday
  • Sunday 4 April – Easter Sunday
  • Monday 5 April – Easter Monday
  • Tuesday 6 April – Easter Tuesday
  • Sunday 25 April – ANZAC Day
  • Monday 26 April – ANZAC Day Holiday
  • Friday 7 May – AGFEST
  • Monday 14 June – Queen’s Birthday
  • Friday 1 October – Burnie Show
  • Thursday 7 October – Royal Launceston Show
  • Friday 15 October – Flinders Island Show
  • Thursday 21 October – Royal Hobart Show
  • Monday 1 November – Recreation Day
  • Friday 26 November – Devonport Show
  • Saturday 25 December – Christmas Day
  • Sunday 26 December – Boxing Day
  • Monday 27 December – Christmas Holiday
  • Tuesday, 28 December – Boxing Day Holiday

Northern Territory

School Term Dates:

  • Term 1: Monday 1 February — Friday 16 April (urban schools), Tuesday 2 February — Friday 16 Apri  (remote schools)
  • Term 2: Tuesday 27 April — Friday 2 July
  • Term 3: Tuesday 27 July — Friday 1 October
  • Term 4: Monday 18 October — Thursday 16 December (urban schools), Monday 18 October — Friday 17 December (remote schools)

Public Holidays: 

  • Friday 1 January – New Year’s Day
  • Tuesday 26 January – Australia Day
  • Friday 2 April 2 – Good Friday
  • Saturday 3 April – Day following Good Friday
  • Sunday 4 April – Easter Sunday
  • Monday 5 April – Easter Monday
  • Sunday 25 April – ANZAC Day
  • Monday 26 April – ANZAC Day Holiday
  • Monday 3 May – May Day
  • Monday 14 June – Queen’s Birthday
  • Friday 2 July – Alice Spring Show Day
  • Friday 9 July – Tennant Creek Show Day
  • Friday 16 July Katherine Show Day
  • Monday 2 August – Picnic Day
  • Friday 20 August – Borroloola Show Day
  • Saturday 25 December – Christmas Day
  • Sunday 26 December – Boxing Day
  • Monday 27 December – Christmas Holiday
  • Tuesday, 28 December – Boxing Day Holiday
  • Friday 31 December – New Year’s Eve (from 7pm)

Make sure to browse our Back to School section for all the advice and information you need to get the new school year off to a great start, including these clever school hacks.

Author

Born and raised in Canada, Jenna now lives in Far North Queensland with her tribe. When the mum-of-three is not writing, you can find her floating in the pool, watching princess movies, frolicking on the beach, bouncing her baby to sleep or nagging her older kids to put on their pants.

Write A Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.